Meet My Favorite Song, “Favorite Song”

Stephanie Georgopulos
2 min readDec 4, 2020

Spotify recently released their annual year-in-review…experience?, which is pretty much the only year-end content I care about (sorry, “Auld Lang Syne”). I love reflecting on the flavor of my year through the songs I had on repeat — taken in sum, they reveal the unconscious layers of an era, details that would have otherwise escaped my awareness: my shifting moods, where I directed my attention, what I wanted to say but didn’t (or did).

Much like 2020, my Top 100 is all over the place. It’s obvious the year has permeated my psyche and yes, my musical preferences: the instrumentals I played through headphones as my old roommate took Zoom meetings at her desk, 10 feet away from mine; the more-than-a-few songs on the theme of desire; the remnants of those last pre-pandemic concerts and karaoke nights.

And then there’s the song that transports me to a place where none of this shit is even on my radar:

--

--

Stephanie Georgopulos

creator & former editor-in-chief of human parts. west coast good witch. student of people. find me: stephgeorgopulos.com